The Little Cornish House by Donna Ashcroft / #Review #BooksOnTour @bookouture @Donnashc

 

***

Sun, secrets, and a handsome stranger… Everything is about to change for Ruby Penhaligon.Step into the stunning Indigo Cove on the beautiful Cornish coast and lose yourself in a page-turning summer romance about second chances and creating your own kind of happiness. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley.Thirty-year-old Ruby is done with love: no more drama, no more complications, no more men. She’s living life for herself and that’s just the way she likes it. But her whole world is turned upside down when her grandmother calls to say her beloved pottery business is failing, and she might lose her beautiful little Cornish house by the sea. She needs Ruby to come back to Cornwall and save the day…Returning to Indigo Cove stirs up memories Ruby would rather forget, but she’s determined to save her grandmother’s home. As the summer hots up so does the pressure on Ruby and she’s in need of a distraction. Although quite literally walking into Gabe Roskilly, the sexy and brooding owner of the local brewery, wasn’t part of her game plan.Ruby tries to ignore her attraction to Gabe but it’s impossible to avoid the tall, dark, handsome stranger as Gabe is at the centre of village life. And when Ruby’s plans for the little Cornish house start to fall apart, she discovers Gabe might be the one person who can help her. Ruby’s promise to stay single is tested to the limit. But are Gabe’s intentions all good… or is Ruby about to get her heart broken again?Can Ruby save her grandmother’s cottage and find true happiness this summer? Or will secrets from the past ruin everything?

***

***

Review

I always am a bit jealous when I read about these little cosy villages at the seaside. I would love to live there too, but maybe a bit more towards the south like the South of France or Spain. Perhaps when I am old(er) and grey(er) 😉

When you have been let down by one of the people who should stand by you no matter what, it hurts. You pull yourself together and you survive. It’s hard and painful, but doable. But when they do it over and over again and they break your heart each and every time, then it’s too much. Much too much and you promise yourself you will never let that person hurt you again. So you ask back the key to your heart you gave them wholeheartedly. Enough is enough, because they did not only made you sad, but a few other loved ones too.

You don’t want anything that reminds you of them anymore and you build a wall around you.

But then there is good old Cupid. He aims, shoots arrow and never misses. You can fight him, but in the end guess who wins… 😊

A lovely story, great and a few not so nice characters and of course love. People do can change although it might take some time before they see the light. 😊 5 stars

Thank you

***

About the author

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager. 

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017.
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

***

Author Links

Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/donnaashcroftauthor/

***

***

Book Link

https://geni.us/B09RX1Z8Z4social