The Butcher – Nathan Burrows / #Review #BlogTour @damppebbles @NathanBurrowsU


She thought it was pork. She was wrong.

The first time hapless food inspector Emily Underwood meets butcher Frank Pinch, he’s not got much at all in his display counters. But what he does have is a rather unusual plan to restock his shelves. The next time they bump into each other, he’s won an award for his sausages but is running out of meat.

Can Frank keep up production of his unusually tasty sausages? Will Emily discover the source of Frank’s award wining meat? And what will happen the next time she tries to inspect his butchers shop?

Book 1 in the Rub-a-Dub-Dub trilogy, this deliciously British dark comedy will change the way you look at sausages forever.

Nathan is discounting The Butcher to 99p/99c to coincide with the blog tour 



My review

If you are a fan of dark humour, this will certainly be your cup of tea. I guess it’s one of those books where you either really like it or really don’t. I really liked it.

If I have to pick my favourite character I don’t have to hesitate for one second. Tom is very naive but cunning as well. He is easily manipulated by his brother but does not hesitate to take the initiative.

This book is about finding a rather special kind of solutions to money problems. Do not try this at home! 😉

The story make me feel disgusted but made me smile a lot too. One this is for sure : I will never look at sausages in the same way as before. 🙂 4 stars.

Thank you, Nathan Burrows and damppebbles blog tours.


About the author

Nathan Burrows is a writer based in Norfolk in the United Kingdom. His debut novel, a legal thriller called ‘Blind Justice’, was published in March 2018. He’s also the author of a dark comedy trilogy set in Norfolk. The first in the series is ‘The Butcher’, a deliciously funny story about – amongst other things – sausages. The second in the series is ‘The Baker’, which features Norfolk’s most useless cult. And finally, ‘The Candlestick Maker’ is about a fitness instructor with a difference. The next book to be released will be ‘Man Down’, a return to more traditional thrillers. It’s a military story set in Afghanistan which will be released in the Autumn, 2019. Also releasing later in the year is ‘Finding Milly’, which explores just how far a man will go to find his missing daughter. Nathan’s a keen reader as well as a writer. He occasionally runs marathons, has a Norwich City football club season ticket, and is the proud part-owner of a Daschund puppy called Bertie. For more information, visit


Social Media




Amazon Author Page:

Purchase Links

Amazon UK:

Amazon US:

Google Books: Kobo: