Little Girls Sleeping (Detective Katie Scott #1) – Jennifer Chase / #Review #BooksOnTour @bookouture @JChaseNovelist

 

He looked down at the little girl, sleeping peacefully, her arms wrapped around a teddy bear. He knew he was the only one who could save her. He could let her sleep forever.

An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California and for Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp twenty years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.

But as Katie starts to investigate, accompanied by her loyal ex-military dog, Cisco, the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Hidden deep in the forest she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly coloured teddy bear.

Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls—finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.

And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home.

Katie’s still haunted by the friend she failed to protect, and she’ll do anything to stop the killer striking again—but can she find the little girl before it’s too late?

Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.

.

 

My review

My first book by this author and I loved it for different reasons. Allow me to explain.

First of all I was very pleased that the writer created a story that gave me a creepy feeling throughout the whole book. That’s the way I like to feel when reading a thriller. So ten out of 10 here.

I really liked Katie. I admired her strenght and was touched by the relationship between her and her dog. I felt the love, trust and faithfullness they shared. I am an avid dog lover and that why the author gets a perfect score here was well.

Last but not least, I love police prodecurals and the author really shows us that she knows what she is talking about. Not very often you see on tv or in books that the forsensic crimonologists also take paper bags with them to put certain samples in found at the crime scene.  It’s always a joy reading a thriller with a focus on this department. I find this extremely interesting and that why I have to give the highest score once again.

In my opinion this was a very good start of a new series and the author has gained a big fan. 5 stars.

Thank you, Jennifer Chase, Bookouture and Netgalley.

 

About the author

Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers.

Jennifer Chase was born and raised in California and still lives there with her husband, dogs and cats. In addition to writing and consulting, Jennifer enjoys spending time outdoors, both at the beach and hiking, and engaging in some amateur photography.

www.authorjenniferchase.com

https://twitter.com/JChaseNovelist