Winters’ Gift by Florence Keeling / #Extract #BlogTour @rararesources @KeelingFlorence

 

 

Bea Winters is in desperate need of a fresh start. Being bullied at work is not her idea of fun and she longs to follow her dream of becoming a published author. When an advert appears in her local paper to work in a publishing house in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale, it sounds too good to be true.  

She strikes up an instant friendship with gorgeous aspiring author, Eddie Richards and her dashing millionaire boss Scott Summers 

But all isn’t as it seems in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale.

How does the local clairvoyant know her name? Who does the little black dog that keeps appearing belong to and why does she keep bumping into the mysterious Charlie?  

As she starts to unravel the truth, it seems that everyone in Bea’s life is keeping secrets.  

 

 

Extract

One of the things I love about Summers’ Day Publishing is the friendships and parties that the staff have. Every year, the boss, Scott Summers, throws a charity Halloween ball with a different theme. In the book the theme for the year is Labyrinth, the 80s film with David Bowie. It’s one of my absolute favourite films of all time.

It took almost twenty minutes for everyone to get changed into their costumes but when they did it was just like the ballroom scene from the film had been recreated in the office.  The girls all wore huge ball gowns in different colours and Giles had a frock coat and breeches.  Even the masks had been made in perfect homage to the film with a slightly scary feel about them.

“Come on Bea.”  Beth shouted.  “We want to see yours.”  She had no desire to dress up, really wasn’t in the mood but didn’t want to disappoint them all so she headed into the toilets to change.

She unzipped the bag to reveal a white and silver ball gown with the widest skirt and puffiest sleeves Bea had ever seen and she knew instantly it was the gown that Jennifer Connelly wore in her role as Sarah.  She sighed knowing that if she was wearing this, Scott would be dressed as Jareth and she was right.

As she wiggled her way out of the toilet and back into the office there were audible sighs and gasps.  Then the attention was taken off her immediately as Scott came down in a high collared sparkly dark blue frock coat with matching trousers and boots.  It was an exact replica of the one from the film.  He even had a wig on and Bea could imagine if he’d had time he would have done the eye make-up as well.

He looked good and he knew it.  Everyone was in awe especially when he held out his hand for Bea to join him.  She walked over to him feeling so embarrassed that she thought her cheeks must be on fire.  He twirled her round and round until she was dizzy.  Someone had even fired up the song ‘As the world falls down’ on their phone as they danced.

“Well I’m glad to see you’ve all been working hard in my absence.”  The room went silent as they all turned to see a tall, smartly dressed woman in her early thirties saunter in.  Bea had never seen anyone so beautiful.  If Scott was Adonis then she was Aphrodite.  She walked straight through the staff, looked Bea up and down with a withering smile then turned to Scott.  “A word if you don’t mind.”  Scott gulped and followed her up the stairs.

 Thank you, Florence Keeling and Rachel’s Random Resources

 

 

About the author

Florence Keeling adopted for her pen-name her Great Grandmother’s name, chosen because of the shared birthday of April Fool’s Day.  She is married with two teenage chidren.  Born and raised in Coventry, England she now lives just outside in Nuneaton.  Reflected Destinies is her first novel.

Florence Keeling also writes for children under the name of Lily Mae Walters.

 

Author Links

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/florence.keeling.7

Twitter – https://twitter.com/KeelingFlorence

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/florence.keeling/

 

Book Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Winters-Gift-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B07KDWRWXP/#ace-4131440328

US –  https://www.amazon.com/Winters-Gift-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B07KDWRWXP/

Winters’ Gift – Florence Keeling / #CoverReveal #BlogTour @rararesources @KeelingFlorence

 

 

Bea Winters is in desperate need of a fresh start. Being bullied at work is not her idea of fun and she longs to follow her dream of becoming a published author. When an advert appears in her local paper to work in a publishing house in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale, it sounds too good to be true.

She strikes up an instant friendship with gorgeous aspiring author, Eddie Richards and her dashing millionaire boss Scott Summers

But all isn’t as it seems in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale.

How does the local clairvoyant know her name? Who does the little black dog that keeps appearing belong to and why does she keep bumping into the mysterious Charlie?

As she starts to unravel the truth, it seems that everyone in Bea’s life is keeping secrets.

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Carole Matthews.

 

 

Cover Reveal

Thank you, Florence Keeling and Rachel’s Random Resources

 

About the author

Florence Keeling adopted for her pen-name her Great Grandmother’s name, chosen because of the shared birthday of April Fool’s Day. She is married with two teenage chidren. Born and raised in Coventry, England she now lives just outside in Nuneaton. Reflected Destinies is her first novel. Florence Keeling also writes for children under the name of Lily Mae Walters.

 

Author Links

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/florence.keeling.7

Twitter – https://twitter.com/KeelingFlorence

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/florence.keeling/

 

Book Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Winters-Gift-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B07KDWRWXP/#ace-4131440328

US – https://www.amazon.com/Winters-Gift-Florence-Keeling-ebook/dp/B07KDWRWXP/