Buried Deep by Susan Wilkins / #Review #BooksOnTour @bookouture @SusanWilkins32



Detective Megan Thomas #1

Megan has to climb round and step across the body to get a proper view. What’s left is like a chalk white mask in the rough shape of a face. The innocence is still there, and a hint of the cheekiness. But perhaps she is imagining that.

Detective Megan Thomas moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. She’s staying with her sister and swimming in the sea daily, battling the tides and letting the waves wash her past away. But she can’t outrun everything.

On her first day back, she’s called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, and when Megan forces herself to look, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she realises she’s not sure if she can go back to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried – maybe too powerful to let her do her job.

But when another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan remembers why she joined the force, and what she’s fighting for. The victim came to the police for help, and Megan knows they failed her. She won’t rest until she gets answers. But how can she find justice for others, when she’s no longer sure of herself?




I like first books in new series. Getting to know the new police team is always exiting and it’s a bonus that you know that you will not have to say goodbye to them at the end of the story. You know you will meet them again when they are trying to solve new cases and more details about their private lives will be revealed.

DS Megan is passionate. That’s the least you can say about the way she dives into each and every crime that happens with the determination of a pitbull.

Not one or two, but three cases demand her attention at the same time. Three totally separate cases that keep her awake at night. The team is doing everything possible, but when it become personal, Megan even moves up a gear…

Brilliant book in my opinion! I want to read more and dive into Megan’s past as well. She fascinates me thoroughly. 5 stars

Thank you, Susan Wilkins and Bookouture


About the author

Susan Wilkins also writes as S.J. Wilkins

Susan worked for years in television drama, wrote for shows including Casualty, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders and created the London-based detective drama South of the Border.

Her gritty, Essex-based gangster trilogy – THE INFORMANT, THE MOURNER and THE KILLER – has been compared to Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers and described as “blazingly brilliant” (Sunday Mirror).

IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME, her fourth book, is a twisty psychological thriller, featuring police detective Jo Boden, an ambitious cop still grieving for a murdered sister.

For 2020 a completely gripping new series from Susan introduces the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.

Writing as S.J. Wilkins, A KILLER’S HEART – a tense and timely political thriller, is now available on Kindle.


Author Links

Website: https://susanwilkins.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/susanwilkinsauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/SusanWilkins32



Book Links

Amazon: https://geni.us/B083JLJ8WTSocial

Apple: https://apple.co/2QAaFTL

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2QRPL1m

Google: http://bit.ly/2R0Dibs