Before She Falls – Dylan Young

Kimberley was a beautiful young girl with the world at her feet.
Before she fell.
Before she was gone.

When Kimberley Williams jumps off Southdown Cliff, her family and the close-knit community are shocked. What would make her take her own life when she had so much of it left to live?

Detective Anna Gwynne is assigned to the case after it becomes clear that someone made Kimberley jump. Someone had been sending Kimberley messages, saying they would tell everyone her secret…

Then Anna realises there are others, all being sent the same messages, all with their lives at risk. To find the truth she will have to confront her own past, the lies she’s told about her childhood and the demons hidden there…

Can she save these innocent lives?

What is the secret they’re all dying for?



My review

Sometimes there are series where you can read all the books as stand alones. Sometimes I feel you really need to read them all in order not to miss out on too much. For this series, the latter applies in my opinion, but I am sure that people who have devoured them all, will agree that it certainly was not a waste of time.

Anna reminds me of myself and Hector is so fascinating. Although of course I don’t applaud what he does, I can understand him and my heart melted a bit here at the end.

This story shows how dangerous the internet can be, how cruel younsters can be and how vicious minds can take advantage of young people that suffer to manipulate them into very sick games.

In this book Anna and her team don’t know how everything adds up but soon clues are being picked up and the calm river turns into a white water one.

I had an inkling of who might have been involved, but the author did a very nice job in taking me for a ride. Altough the story started at a slow pace, it soon took off like a rocket. 5 stars.

Thank you, Dylan Young, Bookouture and Netgalley.


About the author

Dylan Young grew up in a mining village in South Wales before boarding a train for London. A 35-year career in the NHS followed, the last 27 as a consultant ophthalmologist. Three dark psychological thrillers for Random House emerged in the late nineties and over the last decade, under different pseudonyms, he’s written children’s books and an adult contemporary fantasy series. Retiring from the NHS has allowed Dylan to spend (even) more time in his writing office — a shed in the garden. The first of a new three book crime series will be published by Bookouture in 2018 and he still can’t quite believe it.