Before She Wakes by Ed James / #Review #BooksOnTour @bookouture @edjamesauthor


Detective Max Carter #3

Single mother Marissa stands in her daughter’s untidy room. Olivia’s phone is still charging at the wall and her clothes are still hanging in her closet. The mirror above her daughter’s desk is cracked and a message written in red ink reads ‘Never Forget’.

When the investigation into Olivia’s disappearance makes local headlines, people begin to gossip about the missing teenager and it soon becomes clear she had been lying to her mother for a long time. Not only did she have a secret boyfriend, but she had also been talking to her guidance counsellor constantly in the weeks before she disappeared. What was so big that Olivia couldn’t tell?

And when a blood test reveals that Marissa was drugged the night Olivia went missing, fingers point at Marissa’s estranged husband, but he too has vanished without trace. Could a long-buried family secret have put the teenager’s life in danger? And will the truth be revealed before it’s too late for the missing girl?




The third book in the series and they keep getting better and better.

Agent Max Carter already received some devastating news in the previous book and now the story continuous, but that’s not the only thing on his mind. He also has to deal with another abduction.

The search for leads can begin but every time he turns a corner he seems to find himself at a dead end. People are lying through their teeth. Others seem to be dead or have disappeared. Max does not give up but he knows the clock is ticking. His goal is to find the child of course, but he wants them found alive. That’s why you have to use everything that is available in order to crack the case wide open. Not everything is what it seems. That is something you should never forget.

Will we find out what happened to Max all those years ago or will we still be kept in the dark?

This book had the FBI running in circles. I enjoyed it a lot. 5 stars

Thank you, Ed James and Bookouture


About the author

Ed James is the author of multiple series of crime novels.

The bestselling DI Simon Fenchurch series is set in East London and published by Thomas & Mercer.

The self-published Scott Cullen series of Scottish police procedurals features a young Edinburgh Detective Constable investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. The first book, “Ghost in the Machine”, has been downloaded over 400,000 times, hitting both the Amazon UK & US top five.

The Craig Hunter books is a sister series to the Cullen novels, with a PTSD-suffering ex-squaddie now working as a cop investigating sexual abuse cases. With lots of slapstick and banter.

Ed lives in East Lothian, Scotland and writes full-time, but used to work in IT project management, where he filled his weekly commute to London by literally writing on planes, trains and automobiles.


Author Links

Mailing list —

Email —

Twitter —

Facebook —



Book Links